Croatia joins Schengen zone, Romania and Bulgaria denied membership


YEREVAN, DECEMBER 16, ARTSAKHPRESS. Europe’s passport-free travel zone will be welcoming Croatia but Romania and Bulgaria have been left outside, Euronews reports.

EU countries today voted on whether or not to admit the three nations into the Schengen zone – a pact between countries to abolish border checks for those travelling between their territories.

Croatia received unanimous support from the 26 Schengen member states.

However, Austria blocked Romania and Bulgaria, citing a lack of preparedness. The Netherlands supported Romania’s bid but opposed Bulgaria’s.

Croatia will also start using the euro from January 2023. 

Croatia has been part of the European Union since 2013, and Romania and Bulgaria since 2007. But until now none of them have been part of the Schengen zone.

Add a comment